In an article published on March 12, 2018, regulatory news provider Chemical Watch informed that the European Chemicals Agency (ECHA) has launched a public consultation on proposals to identify eight chemicals as substances of very high concern (SVHCs) under REACH. The substances are 1) Benzo[ghi]perylene (CAS 191-24-2), 2) decamethylcyclopentasiloxane (D5, CAS 541-02-6), 3) disodium octaborate (CAS 12008-41-2), 4) dodecamethylcyclohexasiloxane (D6, CAS 540-97-6), 5) ethylenediamine (CAS 107-15-3), 6) lead (7439-92-1), 7) octamethylcyclotetrasiloxane (D4, CAS 556-67-2), and 8) terphenyl hydrogenated (CAS 61788-32-7). Comments can be submitted until April 23, 2018.

Ethylenediamine is included in the Union List of substances authorized for use in plastic food contact materials (FCMs) (see Annex I of Regulation (EU) No 10/2011), as well as in the ESCO working group list of non-plastic FCMs and the FACET inventory of FCMs. D4, D5, D6, and disodium octaborate are listed in the FACET inventory.

Read more

Chemical Watch (February 12, 2018). “ECHA seeks views on SVHC identification proposals.