In an article published on July 10, 2020, regulatory news provider Chemical Watch reminded readers that the EU’s REACH restriction of the four phthalates bis(2-ethylhexyl) phthalate (DEHP; CAS 117-81-7), dibutyl phthalate (DBP; CAS 84-74-2), diisobutyl phthalate (DIBP; CAS 84-69-5), and benzyl butyl phthalate (BBP; CAS 85-68-7) came into force on July 7, 2020. Announced in December 2018, the restriction dictates that “the four substances will be restricted to a concentration equal to or below 0.1% by weight individually or in any combination in any plasticized material in articles used by consumers or in indoor areas” (FPF reported).

This restriction notably does not apply to food contact materials (FCMs), and civil society organizations have called on the authorities to apply the same safety standards across food contact regulation (FPF reported). All four substances can be found in inventories of chemicals used in food contact materials (FCMs) in the EU, such as the Union List for food contact plastics (Annex I of Regulation (EU) No 10/2011), the ESCO working group list of non-plastic FCMs, and the FACET inventory of FCMs.

Read More

Chemical Watch (July 2020). “REACH restriction on four phthalates in consumer products now applies.”


EU (December 17, 2018). “Commission Regulation (EU) 2018/2005.”